Kitsch is Cool

According to Wikipedia

kitsch definition from wikipedia

Hah, I beg to differ!

I personally find kitschy wall art one of my favorite things…I’ve been collecting them here and there as I’m out on my thrifting adventures- from funky hand-embroidered ones, to collector’s plates. The more odd, the better. I think I’ve been more recently admiring embroidered wall art, as there’s just something about creating an image or words with a needle and thread. It seems like a challenge, especially when there’s no pattern involved- it’s just coming from the crafter’s vision.

Here’s a few images of what I’ve got in my cottage studio so far:

retro vintage kitsch wall art

vintage retro sparrow kitsch wall art

hello my little sparrow friend!

Here are some modern takes on kitschy wall art, courtesy of the creative folks at Etsy:

beautiful work from On the Wall by Yoko on Etsy

funny embroidered wall art

a fun twist on kitschy wall art from Red Bow Designs on Etsy

